Hating What Others Love

I wonder what it’s like to like things that you don’t already like. There are a few things in this world that I absolutely hate, but other people love. Flowers are an excellent example of this. I see how much joy they bring so many people, but to me they’re so vile. The worst part about them is that it’s impossible to escape them as they’re everywhere. Any kind of place that you could possibly think of, and they’re there. Weddings, funerals, birthday parties, baby showers, restaurants, cafes, living rooms, dining room tables, front lawns, backyards, stores, people’s clothing, greeting cards, stationary, curtains. And that’s just off the top of my head. I challenge you to be able to go a whole day without seeing a single flower somewhere.

I’ve been told that I’m strange/abnormal or that something is wrong with me for not liking them. On the contrary, I find society’s obsession with flowers to be abnormal. Most people makes a face when I use the word ‘obsession’ because of the negative connotation associated with that word. But I really find that to be the best way to describe it. Most people aren’t even aware of the mysterious attachment they have to flowers. It’s as if they’re under a spell that I’m immune to. They acknowledge that they certainly love flowers, but I don’t think they realize the extent that it goes. Anyways, my point is that I’m trying to see it from their point of view. But I’m having a really difficult time doing that because I can’t think of any one single thing that I love as much as these people love flowers. And that’s part of the problem I have with society’s obsession with flowers. But I would like to try my very best to put myself in the shoes of a flower lover in order to understand them better.

I would like to just once be able to truly see what others see when they look at something that I don’t like. One theory I have is that their eyes literally see something else. This reminds me of that “Is the dress white and gold or blue and black?” controversy. People were actually claiming to be seeing starkly different colors than others. There was even all kinds of scientific research emerging regarding how our brains can interpret the colors differently. I’m still not sure I can wrap my head around the whole thing that well and my head hurts just thinking about it again. (I’m not even going to tell you what color I saw it as because I don’t want to hear anyone disagree with me again) But yeah, maybe I’m really looking at something else when I see flowers.

From time to time I think about how much easier it would be if there was a true universal item that everyone liked. I think people assume flowers fall into this category. Certainly they can’t imagine a woman not liking such an item. Hence, society putting flowers everywhere. I used to think chocolate was a universally liked food and that surely no one could actually dislike it. But I was wrong! When I was in a program in California we were provided with most of our meals and every 5th Friday we got a special trail mix that included chocolate chips. After recovering from the shock of not understanding how someone could possibly dislike chocolate, I enthusiastically swapped out some item in my trail mix for my teammate’s chocolate chips. But considering how harshly I’m often judged for my dislike of flowers, I can accept his dislike of chocolate.

img_5880-e1496030062812.png

Picture: There is a dating app called Hater that matches you with people based on what you hate. As of February 2017, these were their current stats for flowers. Clearly there is a population of people who dislike or hate flowers and I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

